Health Scrutiny Committee

Meeting to be held on Tuesday, 15 September 2020

Electoral Division affected: None;

Constitution: Membership; Chair and Deputy Chair; and Terms of Reference of the Health Scrutiny Committee and its Steering Group (Appendix A refers)

Contact for further information:

Gary Halsall, Tel: (01772) 536989, Senior Democratic Services Officer (Overview and Scrutiny), gary.halsall@lancashire.gov.uk

Executive Summary

This report sets out the constitution, membership, chair and deputy chair and terms of reference (remit) of the Health Scrutiny Committee for the municipal year 2020/21.

Recommendation

The Committee is asked to note:

- The appointment of County Councillors Peter Britcliffe and Stuart Morris as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2020/21 municipal year;
- ii. The new Membership of the Committee following the County Council's Annual Meeting on 16 July 2020; and
- iii. The Terms of Reference of the Committee.

Background and Advice

i) Constitution and Membership of the Health Scrutiny Committee

The Full Council, at its meeting on 16 July 2020, agreed that the Health Scrutiny Committee shall comprise 12 County Councillors (on the basis of 7 Conservative, 4 Labour and1 from either the Liberal Democrat or Independent groups) and 12 non-voting co-opted members, with each District Council being invited to nominate a representative.

It was also agreed that County Councillor nominations to serve on the Committee should be submitted to the Director of Corporate Services by the respective Political Groups. Accordingly, the membership of the Committee, as confirmed by the Political Group Secretaries and the 12 Lancashire District Councils, is as follows:



County Councillors (12):

L Beavers	M Iqbal
P Britcliffe	S Morris
J Cooney	E Pope
C Edwards	J Shedwick
N Hennessy	K Snape
A Hosker	D Whipp

Non-voting co-opted members (12):

Burnley Borough Council Councillor Tracy Kennedy Chorley Council **Councillor Margaret France** Fylde Borough Council Councillor Viv Willder Hyndburn Borough Council Councillor Glen Harrison Lancaster City Council Councillor Gina Dowding Pendle Borough Council Councillor Tom Whipp Preston City Council Councillor David Borrow Ribble Valley Borough Council Councillor Bridget Hilton Councillor Jackie Oakes Rossendale Borough Council South Ribble Borough Council Councillor David Haworth West Lancashire Borough Council Councillor Gail Hodson Wyre Borough Council Councillor Julie Robinson

The Full Council also appointed County Councillors Peter Britcliffe and Stuart Morris as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2020/21 municipal year.

ii) Health Scrutiny Steering Group

The Steering Group is made up of the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Health Scrutiny Committee plus two additional members, one each nominated by the Conservative and Labour Groups as follows:

County Councillors (4):

L Beavers S Morris P Britcliffe E Pope

The Committee's terms of reference (remit) are set out at appendix A.

Consultations

N/A

Implications:

This item has the following implications, as indicated:

Risk management

There are no risk management implications arising from this item.

Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers

Paper	Date	Contact/Tel
None		
Reason for inclusion in	n Part II, if appropriate	
N/A		